Announcement / 19 Feb, 2018
Brazil Ratifies Doha Amendment

The Secretariat of UN Climate Change acknowledges with appreciation those countries who have ratified the Doha Amendment, which establishes the second commitment period of action under the Kyoto Protocol, and looks forward to actively working with those who have yet to ratify.

The most recent ratification is by the Government of Brazil. Meanwhile, 109 Parties have accepted the Amendment.

A second commitment period for the Kyoto Protocol was decided in 2012. The Doha Amendment is expected to enter into force after three quarters of the Parties to the Protocol submit their instruments of acceptance to the Depositary.

The list of countries that have ratified the Doha Amendment is available on the UN Treaty Collection Page.

Read more about the Doha Amendment on the website of UN Climate Change here (map will be updated shortly).