The Compliance Committee of the Kyoto Protocol

What is the Compliance Committee of the Kyoto Protocol?

The Compliance Committee of the Kyoto Protocol is made up of two branches: a facilitative branch and an enforcement branch.  As their names suggest, the facilitative branch aims to provide advice and assistance to Parties in order to promote compliance under the Kyoto Protocol, whereas the enforcement branch has the responsibility to determine consequences for Parties not meeting their commitments under the Kyoto Protocol. 

Both branches are composed of 10 members and 10 alternate members each, including one representative from each of the five official UN regions (Africa, Asia-Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Central and Eastern Europe, and Western Europe and Others), one from the small island developing States, and two each from Annex I and non-Annex I Parties. 

The Committee also meets in a plenary composed of members of both branches, and a bureau, made up of the chairperson and vice-chairperson of each branch, supports its work. Decisions of the plenary and the facilitative branch may be taken by a three-quarters majority, while decisions of the enforcement branch require, in addition, a double majority of both Annex I and non-Annex I Parties.

More information on compliance under the Kyoto Protocol