COP 17/CMP 7 - Host country agreement signed for Durban Climate Change Conference
The Host Country Agreement for COP 17/CMP 7, which takes place in Durban, South Africa from 28 November to 9 December 2011, was signed in Panama on 3 October between UNFCCC Executive Secretary Christiana Figueres, and COP 17/CMP 7 President-Designate Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa.
After the signing ceremony Minister Nkoana-Mashabane said: "It is indeed a reflection of South Africa's commitment to the success of the conference."
The Executive Secretary expressed her gratitude to the minister and, on behalf of all, said: "We are very much looking forward to coming to Durban."
The Host Country Agreement, which covers all the logistical requirements for the conference, is an important landmark towards the success of a COP/CMP.
Photos by Leila Mead/IISD