Negotiations and Decisions

Technology Executive Committee

Climate Technology Centre and Network

Technology Needs Assessments

Technology Transfer Framework

Support for Implementation

Technology Portal

Connect with the UNFCCC

Members of the Technology Executive Committee 

The TEC comprises 20 expert members, elected by the COP, who serve in their personal capacity and are nominated by Parties with the aim of achieving a fair and balanced representation, as follows:

  • Nine members from Parties included in Annex I to the Convention (Annex I Parties);
  • Three members from each of the three regions of the Parties not included in Annex I to the Convention (non-Annex I Parties): Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Latin America and the Caribbean; One member from a small island developing State; One member from a least developed country Party.

The TEC elects annually a Chair and a Vice-Chair from among its members for a term of one year each, with one being a member from an Annex I Party and the other being a member from a non-Annex I Party. The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair alternate annually between a member from an Annex I Party and a member from a non-Annex I Party.

The TEC members for the term beginning at the 10th meeting of the TEC are:

Mr. Kanat BAIGARIN1KazakhstanAsia and the Pacific
Mr. Albert BINGERJamaicaSmall Island Developing States
Mr. Gabriel BLANCO (Vice-Chair)ArgentinaLatin America and the Caribbean
Mr. Daniel BUIRA CLARKMexicoLatin America and the Caribbean
Mr. Birama DIARRA
Ms. Gabriela FISCHEROVASlovakiaAnnex I
Mr. Jürg GRÜTTERSwitzerlandAnnex I
Mr. Omedi Moses JURAKenyaAfrica
Mr. Matthew KENNEDYIrelandAnnex I
Ms. Elfriede A. MOREAustriaAnnex I
Ms. Duduzile NHLENGETHWA-MASINASwazilandAfrica
Mr. Eduardo NOBOAEcuadorLatin America and the Caribbean
Mr. Antonio PFLÜGERGermanyAnnex I
Mr. David REIDMILLERUnited States of AmericaAnnex I
Mr. Seyed Mohammad SADEGHZADEHIranAsia and the Pacific
Mr. Kunihiko SHIMADA (Chair)JapanAnnex I
Ms. Viktoriia SHTETSUkraineAnnex I
Mr. Stig SVENNINGSENNorwayAnnex I
Mr. Karma TSHERINGBhutanLeast Developed Countries
Mr. Xiaohua ZHANG1ChinaAsia and the Pacific

1 Current members will remain in office until their successor are elected.
The membership chart of Convention and Kyoto Protocol bodies after COP 20/CMP 10, including the TEC, can be found here.

Last update: 13 March 2015.