

# **United Nations**Climate Change Secretariat

#### **Nations Unies**

Secrétariat sur les changements climatiques

Date: 18 October 2024 Reference: ISCP/MTP/COP 29/

High-Level Segment

Page 1 of: 5

## MESSAGE TO PARTIES AND OBSERVER STATES

**United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP 29** 

Confirmation of the Heads of State and Government World Leaders Climate Action Summit

and

Alphabetical List of Speakers - COP29 High-Level Segment

The secretariat refers to the high-level segment of the United Nations Climate Change Conference 2024 (COP29/CMP19/CMA 6), scheduled to take place from 11 to 22 November 2024 in Baku, Azerbaijan, and to the World Leaders Climate Action Summit (WLCAS), which is set to be held from 12 to 13 November 2024 as part of COP 29.

Kindly refer to the annex for the list of Parties, arranged <u>in alphabetical order</u>, that registered by the deadline of Friday, 27 September, and have nominated their Head of State or Government (HOS/G) to deliver a national statement during the first part of the high-level segment of COP29, scheduled for 12 and 13 November 2024.

Also included is the list of Parties, arranged <u>in alphabetical order</u>, that registered by the deadline of Friday, 27 September, and have nominated representatives to deliver national statements and statements on behalf of groups during the resumed high-level segment on 19 and 20 November. National statements during the resumed high-level segment of COP29 will be delivered by those Parties whose Head of State or Government did not deliver a national statement during the first part of the high-level segment, held on 12 and 13 November.

**Distribution:** To Parties and observer States to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change through their national focal points and diplomatic missions accredited to the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Azerbaijan.



As noted, the list is arranged in alphabetical order and does not reflect the order of speakers. The preliminary list of speakers for the first part of the high-level segment for Heads of State or Government (HOS/G), indicating the order of delivery for national statements, will be published no later than **Monday, 4 November 2024**.

The list of speakers for the resumed high-level segment, indicating the order of delivery for national and group statements, will be published no later than **Thursday**, **14 November 2024**.

## <u>Confirmation of Attendance of the Heads of State and Government to the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan</u>

Parties are reminded that the registration to deliver a national statement does not constitute confirmation of the participation of their Head of State or Government (HOS/G) at the World Leaders Climate Action Summit (WLCAS) to the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

For those Parties that have not yet done so, kindly confirm the attendance of your Head of State or Government (HOS/G) at the World Leaders Climate Action Summit (WLCAS) to the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan as soon as possible. This confirmation is essential to ensure that all arrangements, including accommodations, are in place for the Heads of State or Government during their stay in Baku, Azerbaijan.

Confirmation of attendance of the Heads of State or Government should be submitted by Verbal Note to the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan through the diplomatic missions, as well as via the email address <a href="mailto:secretariat.wls@cop29.az">secretariat.wls@cop29.az</a> (COP29 Leaders' Summit Protocol Headquarter).

.





## Annex

## FIRST PART OF THE HIGH-LEVEL SEGMENT

(For Heads of State and Government)

## 12 – 13 November 2024

		10 1 (0 ) 01112 01	
1.	Albania	35.	Gambia
2.	Algeria	36.	Georgia
3.	Angola	37.	Germany
4.	Antigua and Barbuda	38.	Ghana
5.	Bahamas	39.	Greece
6.	Bangladesh	40.	Grenada
7.	Barbados	41.	Guinea-Bissau
8.	Belarus	42.	Guyana
9.	Belgium	43.	Holy See
10.	Benin	44.	Hungary
11.	Bhutan	45.	Iraq
12.	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	46.	Ireland
13.	Bosnia and Herzegovina	47.	Italy
14.	Botswana	48.	Japan
15.	Brazil	49.	Jordan
16.	Bulgaria	50.	Kazakhstan
17.	Burundi	51.	Kenya
18.	Central African Republic	52.	Kuwait
19.	Chad	53.	Kyrgyzstan
20.	Colombia	54.	Latvia
21.	Comoros	55.	Lesotho
22.	Congo	56.	Libya
23.	Côte d'Ivoire	57.	Liechtenstein
24.	Croatia	58.	Lithuania
25.	Cyprus	59.	Madagascar
26.	Czechia	60.	Malawi
27.	Democratic Republic of the Congo	61.	Maldives
28.	Djibouti	62.	Malta
	Equatorial Guinea	63.	Marshall Islands
30.	Estonia	64.	Mauritania
31.	Ethiopia	65.	Micronesia (Federated States of)
	European Union	66.	Moldova
33.	Finland	67.	Mongolia
34.	Gabon	68.	Montenegro



69. Mozambique

70. Nepal

71. Netherlands

72. Nigeria

73. Niue

74. North Macedonia

75. Pakistan

76. Palau

77. Poland

78. Qatar

79. Russia

80. Rwanda

81. Saint Lucia

82. San Marino

83. Sao Tome and Principe

84. Saudi Arabia

85. Serbia

86. Seychelles

87. Sierra Leone

88. Slovakia

89. Slovenia

90. Somalia

91. Spain

92. State of Palestine

93. Suriname

94. Tajikistan

95. Timor-Leste

96. Togo

97. Tonga

98. Türkiye

99. Tuvalu

100. Ukraine

101. United Kingdom

102. United Republic of Tanzania

103. Uzbekistan

104. Yemen

105. Zambia

106. Zimbabwe



## RESUMED HIGH-LEVEL SEGMENT

(Those Parties whose Head of State or Government did not deliver a national statement during the first part of the high-level segment and statements on behalf of Negotiating Groups)

### 19 – 20 November 2024

- 1. Andorra
- 2. Argentina
- 3. Austria
- 4. Bahrain
- 5. Belize
- 6. Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  (speaking on behalf of the Like-Minded
  Group)
- 7. Burkina Faso
- 8. Cambodia
- 9. Canada
- 10. Chile
- 11. Costa Rica
- 12. Cuba
- 13. Dominican Republic
- 14. El Salvador
- 15. Eritrea
- 16. European Union (speaking on behalf of the European Union Group)
- 17. Fiji
- 18. Guatemala
- 19. Guinea
- 20. Honduras
- 21. Iceland
- 22. India
- 23. Indonesia
- 24. Israel
- 25. Jamaica
- 26. Kenya (speaking on behalf of the African Group)
- 27. Lao People's Democratic Republic
- 28. Liberia
- 29. Luxembourg

- 30. Malaysia
- 31. Mexico
- 32. Monaco
- 33. Namibia
- 34. Nauru
- 35. New Zealand
- 36. Nicaragua
- 37. Oman
- 38. Panama
- 39. Papua New Guinea
- 40. Paraguay
- 41. Peru
- 42. Philippines
- 43. Portugal
- 44. Republic of Korea
- 45. Romania
- 46. Saudi Arabia (speaking on behalf of the Arab States Group)
- 47. Senegal
- 48. Singapore
- 49. Solomon Islands
- 50. South Africa
- 51. South Sudan
- 52. Sweden
- 53. Thailand
- 54. Tunisia
- 55. Uganda (speaking on behalf of the Group of 77 and China)
- 56. Uruguay
- 57. Vanuatu
- 58. Viet Nam