

MEDIA ADVISORY

Real climate action to be celebrated at the inaugural Climate and Clean Air Awards at COP23

What: The 2017 Climate and Clean Air Award Ceremony

When: November 12, 16:45 to 18:15,

Where: Room 12, Bonn Zone

The Climate and Clean Air Awards recognize exceptional contributions and actions to implement projects, programmes, policies and practices that reduce short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) – black carbon, methane, hydrofluorocarbons and tropospheric ozone.

A ceremony will recognize winners of the inaugural Climate and Clean Air Awards in four categories – Outstanding Policy, Individual Achievement, Innovative Technology, and Transformative Action. This year there are also two Honorary Awards.

Speakers:

- Marcelo Mena Carrascao, Minister for Environment, Chile,
- Prof. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, Minister of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana
- Edmund Gerald Brown Jr, Governor of California
- Ricardo Lara, State Senator, California
- Gustaf Wiklund, Chairman of the Board, Öresundskraft AB
- Sameer Maithel, Founder & Director, Greentech Knowledge Solutions
- Ntombifuthi Zamathomoya Maluleka, Durban (eThekwini) Municipality
- Nic Lutsey, The International Council on Clean Transportation
- Manuel Pulgar-Vidal, Head of Climate and Energy, WWF and former Minister of Environment, Peru
- Youba Sokona, Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
- Mark Watts, Executive Director C40 Cities

A press release about the award ceremony and agenda will be made available under embargo on November 11. Individual press releases for each winner are also available.

Contact:

Tiy Chung, Communications Officer, Climate and Clean Air Coalition. Phone: +33 1 44 37 14 21; Mobile: +33 6 26 71 79 81; email: tiy.chung@unep.org