Membership matters

KCI 9 Meeting, agenda item: 2 (c) 26-27 November 2023



Impact Assessment Unit UNFCCC secretariat, Mitigation

Ongoing term				
Terms of office	Regional groups		Intergovernmental organisations	
2022-2023 ¹	Africa	Mr. Wael Farag Basyouny Kamel Keshk (Egypt) (2nd term, ending 2023) Ms. Angelina Tutuah Mehsah (1st term, ending 2024)	European Bank for Reconstruction and Development	Mr. Jan-Willem van de Ven (2 nd term, ending 2023)
	Asia Pacific	Mr. Albara Tawfig (Saudi Arabia) (2 nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Wang Mou (China) (1st term, ending 2023)	International Labour Organisation	Mr. Moustapha Kamal Gueye (2 nd term, ending 2023)
	EEG	Ms. Laura Remmeleas (Estonina) (1 st term, ending 2023) ² Ms. Alexandra Khlebnova (Russian Federation) (1 st term ending 2024) ³ Ms. Annela Anger-Kraavi (Estonia) (2 nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Michael Gitarskiy (Russian Federation) (2 nd term ending 2023)		
	GRULAC	Mr. Federico Grullon (Dominican Republic) (2 nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Arry Simon (Antigua and Barbuda) (2 nd term, ending 2024)		
	LDC	Mr. Quaman Fall Sarr (Senegal) (1st term, ending in 2024)		
	SIDS	Mr. Peter Govindasamy (Singapore) (1st term, ending 2024)		
	WEOG	Ms. Catherine Ann Goldberg (2 nd term, ending 2024) Mr. Stig Svenningsen (2 nd term, ending 2023)		

- Members with 2nd term ending 2023 (highlighted red)
- Asia-Pacific members can confirm three-year term at COP 28.
- Next elections will be in COP 28 for members ending their term in 2023
- Membership term for IGOs ILO to lead



Status update for co-chairs election

- Last election done in November 2021 electronically after the KCI 5 meeting (October 2021).
- Current co-chairs served 2022 and 2023



V. Co-Chairs

12. The CMA decided that the KCI shall elect, on a consensus basis, two members from among its members to serve as Co-Chairs for a term of two years each, taking into account the need to ensure equitable geographical representation.⁶

13. The CMA also decided that if one of the Co-Chairs is temporarily unable to fulfil the obligations of the office, another member designated by the KCI shall serve as Co-Chair.⁷

14. If one of the Co-Chairs is unable to complete the term of office, the KCI shall elect a replacement from among its members of the relevant group of the incumbent Co-Chair, if available, to complete that term of office.

15. The Co-Chairs shall collaborate in chairing meetings of the KCI and in facilitating the work of the KCI throughout the year, in accordance with the workplan of the forum and its KCI, to ensure coherence between meetings.

16. Following the completion of the Co-Chairs' two-year term of office, the KCI shall nominate two members as Co-Chairs to serve the next two-year term of office.

17. The Co-Chairs shall declare the opening and closing of meetings of the KCI, ensure the observance of these rules of procedure and rule on points of order.



7. Further, the CMA decided that members shall serve a term of two years and be eligible to serve a maximum of two consecutive terms in office.⁴ The following rules shall apply:

(a) Half of the members shall be nominated initially for a term of three years and half of the members for a term of two years;

(b) Thereafter, members are nominated for a term of two years;

(c) The members shall remain in office until their successors are nominated. In such a case, the KCI shall notify the Chairs of the SBSTA and the SBI.

