United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

Membership matters

KCI 8 Meeting, agenda item: 2 (c)

1-2 June 2023



Membership status

Regional groups		
Africa	Ms, Angelina Tutuah Mehsah (1st term, ending 2024) Mr. Wael Farag Basyouny Kamel Keshk (Egypt) (2nd term, ending 2023)	
Asia Pacific	Mr. Albara Tawfig (Saudi Arabia) (2 nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Wang Mou (China) (1st term, ending 2023)	
EEG	Ms. Laura Remmelgas (Estonina) (1st term, ending 2023) 2 Ms. Alexandra Khlebnova (Russian Federation) (1st term ending 2024)3 Ms. Annela Anger-Kraavi (Estonia) (2nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Michael Gitarskiy (Russian Federation) (2nd term ending 2023) Mr. Federico Grullon (Dominican Republic) (2nd term, ending 2023) Mr. Arry Simon (Antigua and Barbuda) (2nd term, ending 2024)	
GRULAC		
LDC	Mr. Ousman Fall Sarr (Senegal) (1st term, ending in 2023)	
SIDS	IDS Mr. Peter Govindasamy (Singapore) (1st term, ending 2024)	
WEOG	Ms. Catherine Ann Goldberg (2 nd term, ending 2024) Mr. Stig Svenningsen (2 nd term, ending 2023)	

Intergovernmental organisations		
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development	Mr. Jan-Willem van de Ven (2 nd term, ending 2023)	
International Labour Organisation	Mr. Moustapha Kamal Gueye (2 nd term, ending 2023)	

Considerations

- 7/14 members can serve threeyear term
- Currently five members are serving three-year term
- Next elections will be in COP 28 for members ending their term in 2023
- Membership term for IGOs?

³ Replacing Mr. Michael Gitarskiy (Russian Federation) on 11 May 2023 to serve three year term



² Replacing Ms. Annela Anger-Kraavi (Estonia) on 11 April 2023

Katowice Committee of Experts on the Impacts of the Implementation of Response Measures Member

Mr. Wang Mou (China)

(Initial 2-year or 3-year term of office to be confirmed)

Member

Mr. Albara Tawfiq (Saudi Arabia)

(Initial 2-year or 3-year term of office to be confirmed)



Revised RoP

- 7. Further, the CMA decided that members shall serve a term of two years and be eligible to serve a maximum of two consecutive terms in office.⁴ The following rules shall apply:
- (a) Half of the members shall be nominated initially for a term of three years and half of the members for a term of two years;
 - (b) Thereafter, members are nominated for a term of two years;
- (c) The members shall remain in office until their successors are nominated. In such a case, the KCI shall notify the Chairs of the SBSTA and the SBI.

