There are three categories of participants at meetings and conferences in the UNFCCC process: representatives of Parties to the Convention and Observer States, members of the press and media, and representatives of observer organizations.

Observer organizations are further categorized into three types: the United Nations System and its Specialized Agencies, intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). IGOs and NGOs can register delegates once they have received observer status. Please click on the link “NGOs and IGOs without observer status” below for additional details on the procedure to obtain observer status.

As of 2018, over 2,200 NGOs and 130 IGOs are admitted as observers. The NGOs represent a broad spectrum of interests, and include representatives from business and industry, environmental groups, farming and agriculture, indigenous populations, local governments and municipal authorities, research and academic institutes, labour unions, women and gender and youth groups.

Lists of already admitted observer organizations can be found at the following links:

Please click on the link that applies to you: