Members of the CGE

The CGE is composed of 24 members representing the following: five members each from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Latin America and the Caribbean; six members from Annex I Parties; one member each from three international organizations, and one observer representing non-Annex I Parties from Eastern Europe.*

CGE area of expertise and experience


A. Africa Region

  • Ms.  Rehab AHMED HASSAN (Sudan)
  • Mr. Gervais Ludovic ITSOUA MADZOUS (Congo), Rapporteur
  • Mr. Stephen Mutua KING’UYU (Kenya) 
  • Mr. Athmane MEHADJI (Algeria)
  • Ms. Sandra Boitumelo MOTSHWANEDI (South Africa)

B. Asia and the Pacific Region

  • Ms. Nura Naif AL-OTAIBI (Saudi Arabia)
  • Mr. Ziaul HAQUE (Bangladesh)
  • Mr. Sin Liang CHEAH (Singapore)
  • Mr. Ajay RAGHAVA (India)
  • Ms. Tian WANG (China)

C. Latin America and the Caribbean Region

  • Mr. Thiago DE ARAUJO MENDES (Brazil), CGE Chair
  • Ms. Estefania ARDILA ROBLES (Colombia)
  • Ms. Mariana KASPRZYK SIERRA (Uruguay)
  • Ms. Rhianna MURPHY (Bahamas)
  • Mr. Luis PAZ (Cuba)

D. Annex I

  • Ms. Laurence AHOUSSOU (Canada)
  • Mr. Michinobu AOYAMA (Japan)
  • Mr. Jerome BOUTANG (France)
  • Ms. Mausami DESAI (USA)
  • Mr. Ricardo FERNANDEZ (EU)
  • Ms. Rocio LICHTE (Germany)

E. Other Organizations

  • Mr. Damiano BORGOGNO (UNDP)
  • Mr. Stanford MWAKASONDA (UN Environment)
  • Mr. Kiyoto TANABE (IPCC)

F. Eastern European States (Observer)*

  • Ms. Umayra TAGHIYEVA (Azerbaijan)

*COP 19 conclusion, FCCC/CP/2013/10, paragraph 131 and SBI 41 report, FCCC/SBI/2014/21, paragraph 137.