UN Climate Statement / 22 Feb, 2017
Patricia Espinosa Thanks Countries for Leadership and Timely Support to UNFCCC

(Bonn, 16 February 2017) - The UN’s top climate official, Patricia Espinosa, today thanked a group of nearly 20 countries for their leadership in fully paying their 2017 contributions - in line with the agreed financial policy - that support the important work of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

The contributions are crucial for enabling the organization support the implementation of the Paris Climate Change Agreement at speed and scale while assisting to catalyze ever higher climate action by all relevant stakeholders, including regions, territories, cities, businesses, investors and citizens.

Ms. Espinosa, the UNFCCC Executive Secretary, said: “I would like to extend my deepest appreciation to these Parties for their leadership by contributing in full by 1 January 2017 and look forward to more coming forward in the coming weeks and months. If this UN entity is to rise to the challenges and opportunities identified by governments, sufficient funding delivered in a timely and predictable manner, is vital for the planning and delivery of these mandates and initiatives”.

“The impacts of climate change are accelerating around the world, and it is essential that the response of the international community also accelerates. The Paris Agreement has entered in force and additional ratifications are happening every month. With the timely contributions of countries, we can fulfill our responsibilities to Parties and increase momentum for climate action in order to meet the transformational aims and goals of the Agreement,” she added.

The assessed funding by Parties underpins the day to day operations of the UNFCCC as it also takes forward planning for the annual May meetings and the UN Climate Conference in Bonn in November 2017.

Countries who fully paid their 2017 contribution by 1st of January 2017 are:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Cook Islands
  • Czech Republic
  • Eritrea
  • Finland
  • Guyana
  • Kazakhstan
  • Mauritius
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Poland
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Vanuatu

Note: Contributions from Parties to the core budget of the convention are due the 1st of January of each calendar year in accordance with the financial procedures adopted by the COP (decision 15/CP.1, annex 1, para. 8 (b)).