



Workshops on synergies and cooperation with other conventions 2-4 July 2003 Espoo, Finland

INFORMATION FOR PARTICIPANTS

Venue

The meeting will be held at:

Congress-Hotel Meripuisto Tyrskyvuori 4 02320 Espoo Tel: + 358-9-819 251 Fax: +358-9-8192 5555 Internet: <u>http://www.meripuisto.fi/</u> Email: meripuisto@meripuisto.fi

Working language of the workshop

The Workshop will be held in English only.

Services to participants

Access to E-mail and Internet services will be provided free of charge. Participants in the Workshop may have lunch in the restaurant of the Hotel Meripuisto. More information will be made available by the host country upon arrival.

Accommodation in Espoo

Participants are kindly reminded that they are responsible for making their own hotel bookings (see hotel registration form). The host has negotiated a price of 57 Euro per day for single accommodation in the venue. We suggest that you book the accommodation at the Hotel Meripuisto. Other alternatives are listed with indicative price in annex I.

Access to Helsinki and venue

Helsinki is serviced by Vantaa International airport (19 km North of Helsinki City centre). The best way to reach the venue (25 km south-west from the airport) is by taxi or airport collective taxi. Participants may also wish to reach the venue by bus. In this case a bus from the airport to Helsinki city centre should be taken first. In the train station (final stop), a second bus (either number 150 or 147) will take participants close to Hotel Meripusto (see map)

Fares

Bus:	Airport/city centre	4.90 euros (one way)
Taxis:	Airport/city centre	21.00 euros approx.
	Airport/venue	35.00 euros approx.

Time Zone

Helsinki is UTC (GMT) + 2 hours.

Climate

The average temperature for July is 18° C.

Voltage

220 volts, 50 Hertz.

Visas/Customs

Participants from countries listed in annex II hereto are strongly advised to approach the nearest Finnish Consulate or Diplomatic mission in order to secure an entry visa to Finland prior to departure.

Information on visa procedure including a list of relevant Finnish diplomatic missions are available on the website of the Ministry for foreign affairs. http://www.formin.fi/doc/eng/services/entry/main.html

For additional help or questions, please contact: teemu.virtanen@ymparisto.fi

Language

The official languages in Finland are Finnish and Swedish. However, English is widely spoken in hotels, shops and restaurants.

Credit cards

Major credit cards are accepted in most shops and restaurants in the city.

Further information

Other useful information can also be found on: <u>http://www.hel.fi</u>. and <u>http://www.espoo.fi/</u>

Annex I

List of hotels with indicative prices (Participants are responsible for making their own bookings)

1. Hotel Meripuisto

Tyrskyvuori 4, FIN 02320 ESPOO Tel: +358-9-819 251 Fax: +358-9-8192 5555 e-mail: meripuisto@meripuisto.fi Rates: Single room 57 euro/night inclusive a buffet breakfast Double room 76 euro/night inclusive a buffet breakfast **For this special price, block reservation code ''UNFCCC'' has to be mentioned!**

For this special price, block reservation code "UNFCCC" has to be mentioned! Reservation no later than 12.06.2003 The reservice is special from 7 am to 10 pm

The reception is opened from 7 am to 10 pm.

2. Hotel Radisson SAS Royal

Runeberginkatu 2, FIN 00100 HELSINKI Tel: + 358-9-69580 Fax: + 358-9-6958 7100

Reservations

Tel: +358-20-1234 700 Fax: +358-20-1234 740 email: reservations.finland@RadissonSAS.com Rates: 135 euro/person/night, breakfast included.

For this special price, block reservation code "UNFCCC" has to be mentioned! Reservation no later than 12.06.2003

Distance from the venue: about 20 Km.

Annex II List of countries whose citizens require entry to visit Finland

Α	Μ	
Afghanistan	Mauritius	
Albania	Micronesia (Federated States of)	
Algeria	Mongolia	
Angola	Morocco	
Antigua and Barbuda	Mozambique	
Armenia	Myanmar	
Azerbaijan	N	
B	Namibia	
B ahamas	Nauru	
Bahrain	Nepal	
	1	
Bangladesh Barbados	Niger Nigeria	
Belarus	Nigeria Northern Mariana Islands	
Belize		
	0	
Benin	Oman	
Bhutan	P	
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Pakistan	
Botswana	Palau	
Burkina Faso	Papua New Guinea	
Burundi	Philippines	
С	Q	
Cambodia	Qatar	
Cameroon	R	
Cape Verde	Republic of Moldova	
Central African Republic	Rwanda	
Chad	Romania	
China	Russian Federation	
Colombia	S	
Comoros	Saint Kitts and Nevis	
Congo	Saint Lucia	
Congo Democratic Republic	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	
Côte d'Ivoire	Samoa	
Cuba	Sao Tome and Principe	
D	Saudi Arabia	
Djibouti	Senegal	
Dominica	Seychelles	
Dominican Republic	Sierra Leone	
Ē	Solomon Islands	
Equatorial Guinea	Somalia	
Egypt	South Africa	
Eritrea	Sri Lanka	
Ethiopia	Sudan	
*	Suriname	
F	Swaziland	
- Fiji	Syrian Arab Republic	
* ·J*	Sjiini i nuo republic	

G	Т
Gabon	Tajikistan
Gambia	Tanzania (United Republic of)
Georgia	Thailand
Grenada	Togo
Guinea Bissau	Tonga
Guyana	Trinidad and Tobago
Н	Tunisia
Haiti	Turkmenistan
Hong Kong	Turkey
Ι	Tuvalu
India	U
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Ukraine
Indonesia	Uganda
Iraq	United Arab Emirates
J	Uzbekistan
Jamaica	V
Jordan	Vanuatu
Κ	Viet Nam
Korea (Democratic People's	Y
Republic of)	-
Kazakhstan	Yemen
Kuwait	Yugoslavia
Kenya	Ζ
Kyrgyzstan	Zambia
Kiribati	Zimbabwe
L	
Lao People's Democratic Republic	
Lebanon	
Lesotho	
Liberia	
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	
Μ	
Macao	
Macedonia (The Former Yugoslav	
Republic of)	
Madagascar	
Maldives	
Mali	
Marshall Islands	
Mauritania	