## Presenting the evidence: migratory species as indicators

- •Effects of climate change on the behaviour on migratory species are becoming increasingly evident.
- •Although migration is itself a flexible reaction to ecological conditions, migratory species seem more vulnerable than most wildlife as they use multiple habitats and sites and a wide range of resources through their migratory cycle.

## **Changes in migration routes** and barriers to migration



#### **Habitat changes**

















#### **Habitat changes**











### **Feeding**

















#### **Feeding**















#### Breeding, nesting and reproduction success





# Resting, incidence of diseases and 'feminization'













#### **CMS COP Resolution 8.13**

The Conference of the Parties to CMS (Nairobi, September 2005) adopted Resolution 8.13, calling upon its Scientific Council to identify research priorities, assess which migratory species face the greatest threats, review the range state list in view of changes of distribution as a result of Climate Change and to collaborate with other Conventions, notably UNFCCC to undertake research into Climate Change impacts. CMS with its associate Agreements is to produce guidance to its Parties to help develop policies to counteract the effects of Climate Change.

### CMS has now 101 Parties. We need others to join:

Afghanistan, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe