President of COP 17 and CMP 7

Bonn, 25 May 2012

Dear Madam President,

Following further consultations by the Coordinators of regional groups, we would like to inform you that pending endorsement by the Conference of the Parties at its eighteenth session (COP 18) in Doha, an agreement has been reached concerning the election of officers of the Bureau of the Ad Hoc Working Group on the Durban Platform for Enhanced Action (ADP). This arrangement is outlined in the attached annex.

The arrangement is based on the principles that would guide the election process of the ADP Bureau, which were agreed by Coordinators of all regional groups during the consultations held in Bonn, as you informed Parties at the ADP plenary meeting this morning. The arrangement would be applied on an interim basis by the ADP, pending endorsement by COP 18. The ADP, in its report of this session, would recommend to COP 18 to endorse the arrangement.

We would greatly appreciate if through Ambassador Nozipho J. Mxakato-Diseko (Ambassador at Large for COP 17/CMP 7), the ADP could be informed at its plenary today of this arrangement, and invite the ADP to agree to it, and to forward it to COP 18 for endorsement by the COP.

This arrangement has been agreed by the Coordinators of the regional groups, as confirmed by the signatures below.

Please accept, Madam President, the assurances of our highest consideration.

Original signed by:

Coordinator of the Group of African States on behalf of the African States

Coordinator of the Group of Asia-Pacific States on behalf of the Asia-Pacific States

Coordinators of the Group of Eastern European States on behalf of the Eastern European States

Coordinator of the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States on behalf of the Latin American and Caribbean States

Coordinators of the Group of Western European and Others States on behalf of the Western European and Others States

Annex

	Non-Annex I Co-Chair	Annex I Co-Chair	Rapporteur
2012/2013	Dr J. Mauskar (Asia-Pacific) (Bonn 2012– end Bonn 2013)	Mr H. Dovland (WEOG)	Mr O. Shamanov (Eastern Europe)
2013	Mr K. Kumarsingh (GRULAC) (end Bonn– COP)	Annex I	Non-Annex I
2014	Mr K. Kumarsingh (GRULAC) (COP – COP)	Annex I	Annex I
2015	(Africa) (COP – COP)	Annex I	Non-Annex I