## Membership of bodies under the Convention and the Kyoto $\textbf{Protocol}^{\underline{1}}$

Body	Membership	Decisions	Term of Office	Election and appointment procedures
Bureaux - COP/CMP - SBs - ADP	COP/CMP - 11 Officers: - 2 from each UN Regional Groups (Africa, Asia-Pacific, GRULAC, E. Europe & WEOG) - 1 from SIDs SBI/SBSTA/ADP - 3 officers each: - from the UN Regional Groups/SIDs based on balanced geographical representation	COP Draft Rules of Procedure (rules 22, 25 and 27) 2/CP.18	<ul> <li>Term of office: 1 year</li> <li>Max. no of terms in office: 2 consecutive terms of 1 year</li> <li>COP endorsed a multi-year arrangement for the ADP Bureau comprising two Co-Chairs and a Rapporteur</li> </ul>	Elected by COP, CMP, SBs or ADP Intersessional replacement by Party concerned
Advisory Board of the CTCN (CTCN AB)	25 representatives: - 8 from Annex I Parties - 8 from non Annex I Parties - Chair/Vice-Chair, Co-Chair or a designated representative of the TEC, SCF, AC and GEF respectively - three representatives, one each from the UNFCCC observer organization constituencies (ENGOs, BINGOs, RINGOs)	14/CP.18	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max no. of terms in office: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>Half of the government representatives elected for an initial term of 3 years and half of the members elected for an initial term of 2 years, thereafter COP shall elect half of the representatives every year for a term of 2 years</li> </ul>	Elected by COP Intersessional replacement by the CTCN AB
Adaptation Committee (AC)	16 members: - 2 from each UN Regional Group - 1 from SIDS - 1 from LDCs - 2 from Annex I Parties - 2 from Non-Annex I Parties	2/CP.17	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. no. of terms in office as member or alternate member: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>Half of the members elected for an initial term of 3 years and half of the members elected for an initial term of 2 years, thereafter COP shall elect members for a term of 2 years</li> </ul>	Elected by COP Intersessional replacement by Adaptation Committee
Adaptation Fund Board (AFB)	16 members/16 alternates: - 2 members/alternate from each UN Regional Group - 1 member/alternate from SIDs - 1 member/alternate from LDCs - 2 members/alternate from Annex I Parties - 2 members/alternate from Non-Annex I Parties	1/CMP.3 1/CMP.4	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. no. of terms in office: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>At completion of term of office, member may change office to serve as alternate, and alternate member may change office to serve as member</li> </ul>	Elected by CMP Intersessional replacement by AFB
Executive Board Clean Dev. Mechanism (CDM EB)	<ul> <li>10 members/10 alternates:</li> <li>1 member/alternate from each UN Regional Group</li> <li>1 member/alternate from SIDs</li> <li>2 members/2 alternates from Annex I Parties</li> <li>2 members/2 members from Non Annex I Parties</li> </ul>	3/CMP.1 4/CMP.1 3/CMP.6	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. no. of terms in office as a member or alternate member: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>At completion of term of office, member may change office to serve as alternate, and alternate member may change office to serve as member</li> </ul>	Elected by CMP Intersessional replacement by CDM EB
Consultative Group of Experts (CGE)	24 members: - 5 each from Africa, Asia-Pacific & GRULAC - 6 from Annex I Parties	3/CP.8 5/CP.15 14/CP.17 18/CP.18	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. no of terms in office: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>Current mandate extended until the end of 2013</li> </ul>	Members confirmed by SBI Intersessional replacement by constituency concerned

<sup>1</sup> Version as at 19 March 2013

Body	Membership	Decisions	Term of Office	Election and appointment procedures
Compliance Committee	10 members/10 alternates for each Branch (EB and FB):     - 1 member/alternate from each UN Regional Group     - 1 member/alternate from SIDs     - 2 members/alternates from Annex I Parties     - 2 members/alternates from Non Annex I Parties	27/CMP.1 4/CMP.2 4/CMP.4	<ul> <li>Term of office: 4 years</li> <li>Max. of terms in office as a member or alternate member: 2 consecutive terms of 4 years</li> <li>At completion of term of office, member may change office to serve as alternate, and alternate member may change office to serve as member</li> </ul>	Elected by CMP CMP to elect replacement member or alternate member
Joint Implementation Supervisory Committee (JISC)	10 members/10 alternates: - 3 members/alternates from Annex I Parties - 3 members/alternates from Annex I EIT Parties - 3 members/alternates from Non Annex I Parties - 1 member/alternate from SIDs	9/CMP.1	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. of terms in office as a member or alternate member: 2 consecutive terms of 2 years</li> <li>At completion of term of office, member may change office to serve as alternate, and alternate member may change office to serve as member</li> </ul>	Elected by CMP Intersessional replacement by JISC
Least Developed Countries Expert Group (LEG)	13 members: - 5 Africa LDCs - 2 Asia-Pacific LDCs - 3 Annex II Parties - 2 SIDs LDCs - 2 LDCs	29/CP.7 7/CP.9 4/CP.11 8/CP.13 6/CP.16	Term of office: new experts may be nominated to or existing members may continue as determined by the respective regions or groups	Members confirmed by SBI Intersessional replacement by constituency concerned
Standing Committee on Finance (SCF)	20 members: 10 members from Annex I Parties; 10 members from Non-Annex I Parties, including: - 2 members from Africa - 2 members from Asia-Pacific - 2 members from GRULAC - 1 member from SIDS - 1 member from LDCs 2 members Non-Annex I Parties	1/CP.16 2/CP.17	Term of office: 2 years     Members may seek additional terms	Elected by COP
Technology Executive Committee (TEC)	20 members - 9 members from Annex I Parties; - 3 members from Africa - 3 members from Asia-Pacific - 3 members from GRULAC - 1 member from SIDS - 1 member from LDCs	1/CP.16 4/CP.17	<ul> <li>Term of office: 2 years</li> <li>Max. no of terms in office: 2 terms of 2 years</li> <li>Half of the members elected for an initial term of 3 years and half of the members elected for an initial term of 2 years, thereafter COP shall elect members for a term of 2 years</li> </ul>	Elected by COP Intersessional replacement by TEC