Your location: Home > Parties & Observers > Parties & Observer States

South Africa    

Ratification status

Climate Change Convention
   Date of signature:15 June 1993
   Date of ratification:29 August 1997
   Date of entry into force:27 November 1997
Kyoto Protocol
   Date of signature:
   Date of ratification:31 July 2002
   Date of entry into force:16 February 2005


Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Relevant documents Relevant CP or CMP decision(s)Relevant CP or CMP conclusion(s)Other relevant information

National reporting

National communications Annex I Non-Annex I
In-depth reviews IDR 1 IDR 2 IDR 3 IDR 4
  summary summary summary summary
Other materials
 Demonstrable progress report
 National Adaptation Programme of Action
 National Action Plan
 GCOS report

National focal points

Country Person Ministry/Organization Address Phone Fax Email Direct phone Direct fax Direct email
South Africa  Mr. Maesela John Kekana, Chief Director International Climate Change Relations and Negotiations  Department of Environmental Affairs   Private Bag X447 Pretoria   (27-12) 310-3120  (27-12) 320-1421    (27-12) 322-1003 
South Africa  Ms. Judith Maria Combrink, Deputy-Director, International Coordination  Department of Environmental Affairs   Private Bag X447 Pretoria   (27-12) 310-3452  (27-12) 320-0062    (27-12) 322-5563