Your location: Home > Parties & Observers > Observer Organizations

 Observer organizations

landing page header.png

There are three categories of participants at meetings and conferences in the UNFCCC process: representatives of Parties to the Convention and Observer States, members of the press and media, and representatives of observer organizations.

Observer organizations are further categorized into three types: the United Nations System and its Specialized Agencies, intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). IGOs and NGOs can register delegates once they have received observer status. Please click the button “NGOs and IGOs without observer status” below for additional details on the procedure to obtain observer status.

As of 2016, over 2,000 NGOs and 100 IGOs are admitted as observers. The NGOs represent a broad spectrum of interests, and embrace representatives from business and industry, environmental groups, farming and agriculture, indigenous populations, local governments and municipal authorities, research and academic institutes, labour unions, women and gender and youth groups.

Lists of already admitted observer organizations can be found at the following links:


Please click on the button that applies to you below.


Admitted NGOs (i.e. NGOs with observer status) Admitted IGOs (i.e. IGOs with observer status)
United Nations System and its Specialized Agencies NGOs and IGOs without observer status
Individuals and for-profit companies
Statistical information on observer organizations in the UNFCCC can be found here.


Submissions by non-Party stakeholders can be accessed here.

Mandate Search Observer Engagement
Overview of online systems
Please find an overview of the online systems used to facilitate observer engagement in the UNFCCC here.
Information for non-Party stakeholders on COP 23