Your location: Home > Meetings > Lima Climate Change Conference - December 2014 > SBI 41

SBI - SBI 41
1 - 8 Dec 2014



All in-session documents will be made available here

Status report on consideration of agenda items at SBI 41

Follow the links in table below for information on items being considered at SBI 41.

SBI agenda item (from provisional agenda) Status & secretariat contact
1 Opening of the session
Session opened
2 Organizational matters
2(a) Adoption of the agenda Agenda adopted with item 4(a) held in abeyance
2(b) Organization of the work of the session

Organization of work agreed

2(c)

Multilateral assessment working group session under the international assessment and review process

www.unfccc.int/8451

The multilateral assessment working group session will be convened on Saturday 6 and Monday 8 December.
2(d)

Election of officers other than the Chair

www.unfccc.int/6558

Consultations conducted by Mr. Cheikh Ndiaye Sylla

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Nattley Williams, nwilliams@unfccc.int

3 Reporting and review of Parties included in Annex I to the Convention
3(a)

Status of submission and review of sixth national communications and first biennial reports from Parties included in Annex I to the Convention

www.unfccc.int/7742, www.unfccc.int/7550

SBI took note of the status               of submission and review of NC6s and BRs

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Ruta Bubniene, rbubniene@unfccc.int

3(b)

Compilation and synthesis of sixth national communications and first biennial reports from Parties included in Annex I to the Convention

www.unfccc.int/3076


Consideration to be continued at SBI 42

3(c) Compilation and synthesis of supplementary information incorporated in sixth national communications from Parties included in Annex I to the Convention that are also Parties to the Kyoto Protocol

www.unfccc.int/3076

Conclusions adopted as presented FCCC/SBI/2014/L.30

Secretariat contact:

Sylvie Marchand, mmarchand@unfccc.int
and Ms. Barbara Muik, bmuik@unfccc.int
3(d)

Revision of the "Guidelines for the preparation of national communications by Parties included in Annex I to the Convention, Part II: UNFCCC reporting guidelines on national communications

www.unfccc.int/1095



Consideration to be continued at SBI 42
3(e)

Report on national greenhouse gas inventory data from Parties included in Annex I to the Convention for the period 1990-2012

www.unfccc.int/4146

The SBI took note of the report

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Naziha Degroote, ndegroote@unfccc.int

3(f)

Annual compilation and accounting report for Annex B Parties under the Kyoto Protocol for 2014

http://unfccc.int/di/FlexibleCADQueries.do

The SBI recommended to the CMP to take note of the report

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Naziha Degroote, ndegroote@unfccc.int

4 Reporting from Parties not included in Annex I to the Convention
4(a) Information contained in national communications from Parties not included in Annex I to the Convention

Item held in abeyance

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Jigme Jigme@unfccc.int

4(b)

Work of the Consultative Group of Experts on National Communications from Parties not included in Annex I to the Convention

www.unfccc.int/2608

Conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.26

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Jigme Jigme@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral statement by the Chair of the CGE (124 kB)

4(c)

Provision of financial and technical support

www.unfccc.int/6921

Conclusions adopted as presented

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Jigme Jigme@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral statement by the GEF (75 kB)

5

Work programme to further the understanding of the diversity of nationally appropriate mitigation actions

www.unfccc.int/7728

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Claudio Forner: cforner@unfccc.int

6 Matters relating to the mechanisms under the Kyoto Protocol
6(a)

Review of the modalities and procedures of the clean development mechanism

www.unfccc.int/1673, cdm.unfccc.int

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.35

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Kay Merce, Kmerce@unfccc.int

6(b)

Review of the joint implementation guidelines

www.unfccc.int/1673

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Vlad Trusca: vtrusca@unfccc.int

6(c)

Modalities for expediting the continued issuance, transfer and acquisition of joint implementation emission reduction units

www.unfccc.int/1673

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Vlad Trusca: vtrusca@unfccc.int

6(d)

Procedures, mechanisms and institutional arrangements for appeals against decisions of the Executive Board of the clean development mechanism

cdm.unfccc.int

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.31

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Marcus Zamaitat: mzamaitat@unfccc.int

6(e)

Report of the administrator of the international transaction log under the Kyoto Protocol

www.unfccc.int/4065

The SBI took note of the report

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Hinko Vincar: hvincar@unfccc.int

7

Matters relating to the least developed countries

www.unfccc.int/7504, www.unfccc.int/7568, www.unfccc.int/8425

Conclusions adopted as presented

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Motsomi Maletjane: mmaletjane@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral report by the Chair of the LEG (108 kB)

8

Report of the Adaptation Committee

www.unfccc.int/6053

Draft decision forwarded to COP as presented

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Ina Lambert: ilambert@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral report by the Co-Chair of the Adaptation Committee (107 kB)

9

National adaptation plans

www.unfccc.int/7500, www.unfccc.int/7279

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.42

Draft decision forwarded to the COP as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.42/Add.1

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Motsomi Maletjane: mmaletjane@unfccc.int

10

Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage associated with Climate Change Impacts

www.unfccc.int/7545, www.unfccc.int/6056

Agreement reached on the organization and governance of the Loss and Damage Executive Committee.

FCCC/SB/2014/L.8

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Xianfu Lu: xlu@unfccc.int and Ms. Miwa Kato: mkato@unfccc.int

11 Matters relating to finance

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Alejandro Kilpatrick: akilpatrick@unfccc.int

11(a)

Second review of the Adaptation Fund

www.unfccc.int/3659

Draft decision forwarded to CMP as presented

11(b)

Further guidance to the Least Developed Countries Fund

www.unfccc.int/4723

Draft decision forwarded to COP as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.38
12

Development and transfer of technologies and implementation of the Technology Mechanism


12(a)

Joint annual report of the Technology Executive Committee and the Climate Technology Centre and Network

www.unfccc.int/7000, ttclear.unfccc.int

Draft decision forwarded to COP as presented

FCCC/SB/2014/L.5

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Ariesta Ningrum: aningrum@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral report by the Chair of the TEC (170 kB)

pdf-icon Oral report by the Chair of the Advisory Board of the CTCN (74 kB)

12(b)

Poznan strategic programme on technology transfer

www.thegef.org/gef/TT_poznan_strategic_program

Draft conclusions adopted as presented


 

Secretariat contact:

Mr Bert van der Plas: bvanderplas@unfccc.int

 

13

Capacity-building

www.unfccc.int/1033, www.unfccc.int/7060

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Alla Metelitsa: ametelitsa@unfccc.int

13(a)

Capacity-building under the Convention

Draft conclusions adopted as presented


pdf-icon Proposal by the EU, Australia, USA and Canada (208 kB)

pdf-icon Proposal by G77 and China (65 kB)
13(b) Capacity-building under the Kyoto Protocol

Draft conclusions adopted as presented


14 Impact of the implementation of response measures

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Festus Luboyera: fluboyera@unfccc.int

14(a)

Forum and work programme

www.unfccc.int/4908

No agreement reached on the draft text. Parties agreed to continue their deliberations on the issue at SB42 on the basis of the text forwarded by the SBs to the COP at this session

FCCC/SB/2014/L.6/Rev.1
14(b) Matters relating to Article 3, paragraph 14, of the Kyoto Protocol SBI agreed to continue consultations on how to take up this matter at the next session
14(c) Progress on the implementation of decision 1/CP.10

SBI agreed to continue consultations on how to take up this matter at the next session

15

The 2013–2015 review

www.unfccc.int/6998, www.unfccc.int/7521

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SB/2014/L.9

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Florin Vladu: fvladu@unfccc.int

pdf-icon Oral statement by SED co-chairs at the closing of SBSTA (147 kB)

16

Gender and climate change

www.unfccc.int/7516

Draft decision forwarded to COP as amended (and reflected in Rev.1)

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Alla Metelitsa: ametelitsa@unfccc.int

17

Arrangements for intergovernmental meetings

www.unfccc.int/8166

Draft conclusions adopted as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.37

Secretariat contact:

Ms. June Budhooram: jbudhooram@unfccc.int

18

Administrative, financial and institutional matters

www.unfccc.int/1065

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Frank Rauch: frauch@unfccc.int

18(a) Audited financial statements for the biennium 2012-2013

Draft COP decisions forwarded as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.27

Draft CMP decisions forwarded as presented

FCCC/SBI/2014/L.28

18(b) Budget performance for the biennium 2014-2015

Draft COP decisions forwarded as presented

Draft CMP decision forwarded as presented

pdf-icon Oral report by the Executive Secretary (142 kB)

19 Reports on other activities
19(a)

Report on the expert meeting on an information hub for information on the results of the activities referred to in decision 1/CP.16, paragraph 70, and results-based payments

www.unfccc.int/redd, www.unfccc.int/8180, www.unfccc.int/8458

SBI took note of the report and requested the secretariat to establish the information hub

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Jenny Wong: jwong@unfccc.int

19(b)

Summary report on the 2nd Dialogue on Article 6 of the Convention

www.unfccc.int/2529, www.unfccc.int/8210

SBI took note of the report

Secretariat contact:

Ms. Alla Metelitsa: ametelitsa@unfccc.int

20 Other matters

Bilateral consultations with interested Parties by the Chair of the SBI on the issue of the membership of the CGE

Secretariat contact:

Mr. Jigme Jigme@unfccc.int

21 Closure of and report on the session

Multilateral Assessment working group session6 and 8 December 2014